North American Robotics Association

Twelfth Annual UNI MiniSumo Smackdown Scheduled: 9:00 am, Friday, April 21, 2017, UNI Maucker Union Hemisphere Lounge

Twelfth Annual UNI Mini-Sumo Smackdown
9 a.m., Friday, April 21, 2017
UNI Maucker Union Hemisphere Lounge

Preparing the robotsA revised registration form will become available ASAP. If you need immediate help, contact Dale Olson by email at:, or call the UNI Physics Office, 319-273-2420, and speak with the Physics Secretary, Becky Adams.

The link to the 2016 registration form will remain active until the 2017 form is posted. See bottom. The entrance requirements for 2017 will be similar to 2016.





Seamus Robot  

Information about the 2016 (Eleventh) Smackdown

RobotOverall 2016 winner: ARTEMIS, built by Nathan Burnside, of Los Alamos, NM, pictured at the left

2016 Student Winner: SEAMUS, built and programmed by Ron Pepmeyer, pictured below right.





The video record of the April 24, 2015, Smackdown is available at:  

The video record of the April 22, 2016, Smackdown is available at:

A copy of a 2015 student report, by Ethan Hunter, is available on the Sumo Resources section of this webpage.

As in 2016, the 2017 MiniSumo Smackdown will again be broadcast live on the internet, from the University of Northern Iowa (UNI) Maucker Student Union, Hemisphere Lounge, 9:00 am - 11:00 am. As noted above, the 2017 Smackdown  is scheduled for April 21. (UNI is located in Cedar Falls, Iowa.)

The standings for the 2016 Smackdown are available at:

Fourteen student robots and ten visiting robots (nine pictured below, left) battled for the two top (plaque) awards, one to the overall winner, and one to the top student builder. Students from Biology, Computer Science, Movement and Exercise Science, Physics, Science Education, and Technology (manufacturing with Metal Casting Emphasis) participated.

Student competitors were Ethan Hunter (MYSTERY), Trevor Dunt (JERRY), Corry Valeika (OXANA), Jacob  Johnson (WALL-E), Joseph Christensen (TACO), Colton Warnke (HAL), Nate Nelson (QT3.14), Krissy Nielsen (CRYSTAL), Matthew Junge (TIGER), Ron Pepmeyer (SEAMUS), Riley Morgan (DANNY DEVITO), Aaron Anderson (RAGNAR), Henry Broer (BIRD), and Michael Odland (ODLAND).

 Visiting robots came from Los Alamos, NM (2 by Nathan Burnside, 2 by Alan Saenz), Fort Wayne, IN (1 by Rick Brooks (1), Peroria, IL (4 by Mike Dvorsky), and Cedar Falls, IA (1, by Electronic Artist, Bradford Holland).